Tennis match conversations . . .the ball drops

red ink…

After much drama in the morning (and every morning) as the mother of three including two teenagers, I was looking forward to another morning therapy session with my girl (who lives a scarily similar, crazy, wonderful life with her husband and daughter in Phoenix). “Hey girl…what’s happening with you?” she asks. (I love this particular sister-friend so much because she never fails to ask about my life.) I go on to tell her about my son who at 15, has Asperger’s and began having seizures last year. “This medication is making him totally crazy” I tell her, and “I’m going right along with him.” She laughs…”hang in there, girl” and doesn’t try to solve the problem, but just listens. Then I ask about her. Our conversations are always like this – like a good tennis match. “You won’t believe this, but I found a lump today.” “Good Lord . . .” I say, half exclamation and half true prayer. A million things flash through my mind, and I ask her all the stupid follow up questions. (Are you sure? Are you near your cycle? How big is it?) “I just had a mammogram a couple of months ago and it was clear,” she continued, “but I have another one scheduled tomorrow.” She’s not scared (yet), but is in “get it done” mode. “You know I just went through this a couple of years ago…” I reply, “and you’ll be o.k.” Of course she remembers because she’s one of the first people that I called and breathed with after my biopsy was negative. She is a serial volunteer and does her most passionate work with a breast cancer foundation, and was just gearing up for breast cancer awareness month in October so the irony of this happening at this time is not lost on either of us. I teased her about wanting to have a good story to tell in October. “It will be fine” I tell her again, truly believing it, and saying my prayers just in case . . .

Leave a Reply

