Surrounded by love

pink ink…

Well my friends, I am headed into surgery. You know what? I am ready. I am not mourning the loss of my breasts. I am only fearing the pain! Yes, I am a wimp. I survived a tough ‘C-section”, so I gather I will do ok with this.

I had a moment of “post traumatic stress” yesterday. I had to go to have my blood checked. Turned out it was in the chemo treatment area. I walked in, saw the other patients, and collapsed into tears! Who knew?! I don’t know what came over me. Probably a combination of it being what would have been the day of my 6th treatment, the memory of what chemo was like, and the reality of having surgery in 36 hours. Whatever it was, it hit me like a brick. The nurse was taken aback, but quickly tried to help me. But as always, it was my husband who helped me gather myself. All I can say is, it was a lot to take in. Tracey, my Cancer Mentor told me it was a natural post traumatic reaction, and to allow it to happen. Michele told me I deserved a breakdown or 2. I guess all that emotion had to go somewhere.

But today, I am back on the horse. Ready for the next adventure. A little tired…ok, a lot tired…but ready to go. Thanks to all who have called, texted, emailed and written notes of their love, prayers, and support. I cannot respond to each of you, but will talk with you in the new year! Despite it all, I feel blessed going into this knowing that I am…

Surrounded by Love…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tonsa Price-Edwards
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 15:16:08

    Know that I am right there with you — lifting you up, shoring you on this journey.

    Always — Your sister,
    Tonsa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

