And the winner is

pink ink…

Happy belated MLK Day! While you were out walking in a parade, or enjoying your day off, I was back in the Chemo Chair. I did take a moment to reflect on the fact that the doctor who sent me to get that diagnostic mammo back in September was a Black woman. In addition, the person who put together and leads my treatment team is a highly recognized Black female doctor! However, it is not lost on me that in 5 months, I have never seen a black receptionist, nurse or orderly at Mayo. Progress?

My long weekend was filled with a bit of anxiety leading up to the “big day”. Big B and I did squeeze in a “date night”, the 1st in many months. It was great to just go out, eat and talk. Fortunately, we didn’t spend a whole lot of time discussing Life in the Cancer Lane. We briefly discussed chemo effects versus surgery, and a couple of people who have disappointed us. But beyond that it was “good times” as they say. Sunday, I went to our monthly support group (cbbcaz.org). Once again, I spoke a little bit more than I expected to. There were a couple people who didn’t realize what my journey was. They didn’t connect the baldhead to cancer. Lol. I ended up sharing my holiday experience, and that chemo was coming once again. I also got to thank my cancer mentors, again, for all their help. Everyone was so supportive, I was glad I “shared”.

At the meeting, one of my close friends reminded me that my chemo plan was bookended by awards season! How could I forget! (Thanks Crystal!) So Sunday night Guiliana of E! covered the Golden Globes out in LA and I covered them….from my couch in Paradise Valley! (Side note, one of my doctors thinks that Guiliana must not be going through immediate reconstruction. She is moving too well, and on her feet for too long to be 6 weeks out. Seriously, I can’t really raise my right arm @ 5 weeks, & I am exhausted!) But, here’s the quick and dirty…

George Clooney and Idris Elba (minus the sneakers), are like fine wine! Yum!

Among the best dressed…Nicole Kidman, Heidi Klum, Zooey Deschanel. ( I didn’t love Angelina’s look.)

Ricky Gervais…tame.

But the best part of the night? That small piece of “normal” that I have been craving! Big B gave up the big TV, handed me some wine, and said “Go at it”. So I had a very relaxing evening. I ended up sleeping on and off that night. But I expected that. I awoke to many supportive and emotional texts and emails from all the folks who remembered that I started chemo again. To you all, I send a great big hug! I needed them to get me out the door!

If you are wondering, Chemo was fine. I didn’t cry when I walked into the suite. Actually, I was surprised by how emotionless I was. The nurse remembered us. (Scary!) We had to take Lil B with us. All our friends were out of town or at the MLK parade. This time we had no issues with her coming with us. We told Lil B it was “new medicine”, leaving out that it was actually chemo. But we think she figured it out. She is a trooper and just played on her ipad. It’s been 6 weeks since my port has been accessed. So despite numbing cream, I definitely felt the needle! The nurse had to do it twice, to really get it in the vein.. So I am a little bruised. But otherwise, the process went smoothly. It was much shorter. Only 1 ½ hrs, and we were out of there. So far, just fatigue and a little nausea. BUT, my tongue is already tingling and sore! Cannot believe I just got my taste back, and in a day, it is leaving again! My boobs are feeling ok today. I am supposed to get my last expansion in a couple days. Hopefully I won’t be nauseous, and the expansion will go well.

So that’s it for another 3 weeks. It is almost cruel to have 3 weeks in between treatment. Just when I am feeling good again, BAM, I will be back at it! But, I have the BET Honors, the Grammys, and the Oscars to look forward to. Like the Golden Globes kicking off treatment, the Oscars fall on the Sunday before my last treatment! So perhaps I will have my own Oscar Party! I may even dress up! If, just this once, my treatment goes as planned. If, this time, this is truly my last chemo treatment, I can say…

And the winner is…ME!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Smith
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 16:52:38

    Well said, Queen B! You would get an Oscar for Best Original Screenplay, Best Documentary and Best Directing! I agree with you about George Clooney. I don’t know how those women deal with him, knowing that he is going to dump them after a couple of years. Notice, he doesn’t do Black Women, it would be a nightmare!!
    Love you girl!

    Reply

  2. Crystal Houston
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 15:05:17

    Well said.
    Hollywood awards time is one of my favorite seasons. So glad you could truly enjoy the wretched excess of this time of year. Don’t forget to take the Golden Globes quiz of the top 30 gowns over the last 15 years on HuffPost. It’s quite a reward for the sustained years of attention to the art of celeb (not unlike the thrill of doing well each week for NPRs “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me” news quiz. These are the moments – outside of child rearing and marriage – that excite and inspire. Furthermore, it’s now apparent there is value in being a pop culture expert…which I find very validating.

    As for your celebri-cancer mate, Guiliana, I read an interview where she said she wasn’t disappointed that she would not have boobs for the Golden Globes (no pun intended)…so I think you’re right that she did not have similar debilitating post-removal procedures.

    I ‘heart’ you.
    CH

    P.S. Ditto on the fashion winners of the night (with honorable mentions for Kate Beckinsale and Charlize)… I too wasn’t thrilled with Angelina’s ghostbusters “I ain’t afraid of no ghost” look either. : )

    Reply

  3. Paigepink
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 04:23:51

    I ❤ Barb … The Winner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

