Oh sunny day

pink ink…

Today my friends, is a good day. We have had a few dark days over the past few weeks, but today is a pretty good day. But for reasons that may surprise you. I read a quote today that hit me.

“A True friend will bring sunshine and a smile to your face even on the darkest of days.”

Now I have been writing about my great friends since I hopped into Life in the Cancer Lane. But today, my thoughts turned to my friends from times past, particularly those in Charlotte and in Philly. Last night I got an email from one of my Charlotte Link sisters whom I haven’t seen in a few years. I was tired and sore and mildly nauseous, but it made me so happy. Her sentiments really meant a lot. I couldn’t believe she took the time to reach out to me. I haven’t lived in Charlotte in 5 years, but I still keep up with a few people. The “news” has made its way to Charlotte, and folks have really stepped up. I have been especially moved by my friends from Lil B’s 1st playgroup, and from Jack & Jill. Though we haven’t seen each other, they follow the blog, send me cards, texts and emails. Just want my southern belles to know that it means the world. It makes me smile.

Further north, I have 2 friends in Philly whom constantly check in on me. One was my running buddy in high school, whom I reconnected with at my reunion in May. (Hey Lizzy!) The other was one of my best “guy” friends forever. We come in and out of each other’s lives but as they say, “a friend is someone you can speak to today, tomorrow, or in a year & pick right up where you left off.” Again, their “presence” during this journey means so much to me. To the Philly Crew, I say thanks for bringing sunshine to my day! You are “true friends”!

Sitting on my deck this morning, reflecting on this, I realized I was “happy”, having a “sunny day”.

DETOUR: Another reason for a sunny day. I made it through the 1st week back on chemo. You know what, it was not as bad as I thought! Still sucked! But I am not throwing up off the side of my bed. As I mentioned, this drug is for cancers that have “come back”. Side effects, my toes and balls of my feet are tingling. That’s neuropathy. Evidently, a typical side effect. My tongue is tingling and sensitive. Been there, done that. The most…interesting…umm…annoying effect is that I have bowel movements 3 times a day. Yay! This is awful for a chick who is usually a once every 2 or 3 day chick. BUT, I count my blessings. It could be throwing up 3x a day. I only took Zophran for 3 days!! MIRACLE! Again, reasons to be happy!

DETOUR #2: Biggest reason to be happy today…I am healing. It has been 5 weeks since my 1st surgery. 3 ½ from the 2nd surgery. My tubes are out, and I only have one more “fill” for my expanders. I am at about 80% on my left arm with re: mobility. Maybe 60% on the right. I still can’t lift much, but it’s getting better. I have boobs now! Don’t be alarmed! They look bigger than they are! Still a B cup. Because they are expanders, they are hard and sit up high. The real implants won’t come until late spring, early summer. But that’s ok. They will look much more natural! Most important, my scars are healing. While the scars are positioned well, I was nervous that they would stay “dark” or would keloid. But the darkness has started to fade, as you can see. So again, reasons to be sunny!

Be happy for me! I have once again found the “sun”!

I hope wherever you are, your day is …sunny!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Smith
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 18:00:19

    Great News, B! I am so glad. If only my boobs could be so perky…
    It is gloomy in Charlotte today, but you are right about friends and sunshine. After reading this, I need my shades!
    Praying for you always-

    Reply

  2. Paigepink
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 01:47:40

    A sunny day indeed my friend. Your girls are looking “Perfect”. Watch Out Orlando Florida:-)

    Reply

  3. JC Ellis
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 18:42:30

    Hello my friend! Another great blog entry. I’m glad that the Golden Globes and the Oscars will book end your chemo experience. How divinely ordered is that?!! Yes, you SHOULD have an Oscar party, complete with a RED carpet! Did I mention you will need a RED carpet? You can serve pink martinis!
    btw, you wrote that your ginormous boobs are now a “B cup again.” Ahem…(that’s me coughing and winking because you and I both know that you (like me) were an A…As gravity takes over…there are days when I feel like a double AA as mine are starting to nap…but this is about your boobs, not mine. smooches! jc

    Reply

  4. Bwats
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 23:51:15

    @ JC: lol! Actually, I just said they are a B. they were definitely ” A”s before! Too funny!

    Reply

  5. Marla Blair
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 13:31:43

    A man in the train station told me I was “berry, berry bootiful” this morning… granted he was a bit raggedy and possibly homeless, but it helped me out on an otherwise crappy morning commute.
    When I saw this post I had to pay it forward and tell you how awesome you are my friend…and berry bootiful and boobyfull too! (those are niiice) Keep on keeping on! Love you much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

