Happy Birthday, my friend

Red ink . . .

Today is Barb’s birthday and she is feeling well enough to celebrate with her hubby. Now that’s a great present! I’m just amazed to think about how much has happened in this year. Last year this time, we couldn’t have imagined the twists and turns that this year would bring. Today brought wisdom in the most unlikely of ways. While working on an assembly line at a service project doing VERY monotonous work (putting labels on cans for three hours), another mom friend shared with me the therapeutic wisdom that we simply have to learn to deal with uncertainty and to let go of the illusion of control that we cling to so desperately. We were talking about our teenaged sons, and expressing our frustration at not knowing how to “fix” their problems or “change” a particular situation that they’re faced with. “Letting go and letting God” is something that I’m definitely still working on! Over the mountains of boxes and tons of shiny cans, my friend shared that the act of letting go had given her real peace. I was so grateful for the reminder, and for the mundane, routine tasks that gave us the occasion to share such an important truth. It made me grateful also for all of the mundane, routine things in my life that I can still get my arms around when the big things are swirling out of my control. I often retreat to the simple things that I can manage (like cleaning, laundry, organizing things) and remember the wonderful prayer of St. Francis “God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.” It’s that prayer that I hope my lil’ sis is feeling today. She surely has courage to spare. I’m wishing her also the serenity and the wisdom. Who knows what next year brings, but these gifts will help both of us handle whatever comes our way. I pray also that she will continue to handle it with good humor and pure honesty. I sent her this video that I found online earlier this week, and she laughed out loud. LOLOL! Hope you do, too! I promised her that I’d post it to our blog, so here it is . . . Watch it while enjoying a glass of wine, and reading something about what’s trending. Raise your glass to Barb wherever you are! Happy Birthday and many, many, many more!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ov Brown
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 03:06:11

    Happy Birthday Barb! Here’s to MORE Birthdays!!! xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

