Go Red!

pink ink…

Today we are taking a intermission from Life in the Cancer Lane! As you may know, I am a breast AND heart health advocate. In addition to sitting on the local Komen Board (yes, it’s been a ROUGH couple days), I am also an Ambassador for the American Heart Association. So I would be remiss if I didn’t tell you that today kicks off Heart Health month, and is actually Wear Red To Work Day!

While breast cancer rightfully gets a lot of attention, it should be noted that Heart Disease is the #1 killer of women! Choosing to ignore your heart health may not seem life changing today, but women are dying of heart disease at the rate of almost one per minute. Like everything else, Black women are dying at an alarming rate from this disease! But the good news is that it is largely preventable.

What we need to do is know our risk factors, know our bodies! Remember, I found my tumor! Pay attention to your body! You can “find” your risk factors…and change them! Diabetes, Hypertension, high cholesterol, and obesity are all early signs of heart disease. Side note…you don’t have to be technically obese! You can be merely “overweight”!

While you can’t change your age, gender or heredity, you can make changes in your lifestyle.

Exercise

Don’t smoke

Lower blood pressure

Lower Cholesterol

Live healthy! Eat fish 2x a week, don’t drink soda, eat lean meats, and cut back on the salt.

Did I mention EXERCISE?! (yes, I went to the gym this morning!)

So that’s my medical minute for today. Take care of your heart! Look in your community for Heart Healthy activities going on all month! Become an ambassador for Heart Health. Wear Red to Macy’s through the weekend and get 20% off your purchase!

This weekend, have a glass of red wine, eat a SMALL piece of dark chocolate (both good for your heart), think about your heart health and…GO RED!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. JC Ellis
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 12:17:03

    Thanks for the heart health reminder! You sit on every board that matters for women, and I’m glad to know that your voice is there representing for women of color! BTW, I’m glad Komen reversed its funding decision re: Planned Parenthood cause that ticked me off. But more importantly, I’m trying to figure out why you didn’t post a photo of yourself in red, my pink friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

