Loving the Red

red ink . . .

Ok so I can’t resist teasing with my sis about seeing her “red” post! Her reminder about taking care of our heart health is right on time. I just got out of the pool where I am ashamed to say that I was pretty breathless after a lap! (It’s gonna take a lot of prayer and hard work to get ready for my mini-triathalon, but I’m working on it! ) Cardio fitness is no joke.

A couple of months ago, one of my cousins (who is right about my age and average weight) felt like she was having heartburn one night. She complained to her husband and decided to get up and have a cup of tea. When she still felt the same way the next morning she decided to go to the doctor instead of to work. To make a long story short, she ended up having open heart surgery and a two way bypass the next day! Her doctor told her that she was a ticking time bomb. Thank God she went to the doctor.

Don’t ignore the symptoms ladies. They can be different for women than for men, and insist that you need to be seen if you are feeling out of whack. Better safe than sorry.

Also try to get the stress in check. It is absolutely true that I feel better about everything (thanks serotonin!) when I get some exercise in, even if it’s just walking my dog.

Since the new year, I’ve decided to ease into a plant-based diet (o.k. I know it’s out there – and yes, I am running out of things to eat – HELP :)). (Serioulsy, read or watch “Forks over Knives” if you get a chance. It’s eye-opening stuff.) Even doubling the vegetable and fruit portion of your diet and keeping the dairy and meat to a minimum two or three times per week can yield tremendous benefits for your heart and for your health.

Wearing red will help you remember to do what you have to do for your heart and for yourself. We really can’t take care of anyone else if we aren’t healthy ourselves. Put on your own gas mask first ladies. Hey, and yesterday I even got a discount at Macy’s for wearing red . . . Gotta love the shopping benefits. I think that did my heart good too! Barb, I always told you red was powerful! LOL!

Leave a Reply

