Finish line…

pink ink…

Well I did it! I made it through EIGHT chemotherapy sessions! I don’t have much to say about it. After the VERY boring Oscars, I had my typical hour of anxiety before I went to bed. Once again, Big B walked me back from the cliff. You would think I would be excited about this being the last treatment. But a small part of me kept saying…”what if it’s not?” I also dreaded the pain. But big girl panties and all, I got up yesterday and headed to MAYO.

My mom came in town to join me on this last trip. We decided to leave lil B in school. (You know a mind is a terrible thing to waste!) But I did bring a picture of her and Michele-Red Ink with me! The treatment was without incident. I thought I might lose my breakfast, at one point, but managed to keep it together! Lol.

Before I knew it, the buzzer went off and the last bit of chemical entered my body! Yay! No more Adriamycin (Red Devil), Taxol, or Abraxane! I am done with the Macro killing of Cancer cells. Can I get a collective “Finally”!?

Next thing I knew, the nurses were all coming toward me with tamborines, noise makers, and bubbles! Everyone was clapping, and offering congratulations! I guess I am really through. I cried as they handed me my Certificate of Completion signed by all the nurses. What a wonderful, caring group of women! To my MAYO chemo family, I say THANK YOU! I hope I never have to see you again!

Next I turned to my left and saw my Link & Sorority Sister/Radiation doctor walk in! It was like a party! You can see the tears if you look close! lol

To all who have sent emails, texts and cards on the days of Chemo. To all the folks who sent prayers on days of chemo. To my family who sat with me on days of chemo, I say I’m done…with chemo! Thank you!

BUT, we are not done yet. Shortly, I will start radiation every day for 6 weeks. (That’s the micro killing of cancer cells) Word on the street is that it will be “easier”. I will keep you posted.

Right now, I see it as my last hurdle before…the FINISH LINE!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Smith
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 19:26:19

    Congratulations Barbra…Your posts have been so inspiring. I am so proud of you and your family. I have been praying and will continue to pray with you and for you on this journey. I am glad that this segment is over and that the finish line is in sight! Love you, girl…

    Reply

  2. Gina
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 05:10:33

    Hey ship! Glad the chemo is over! Hooray!

    Reply

  3. LL
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 13:26:21

    You’re a real fighter ship. I’ve always known that about you. Stay positive. Know that you are ALWAYS in our thoughts and prayers!!! Tell the Watson Riley family hello and Wendy and I can’t wait to see you!!!

    Reply

  4. Kim Allison
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 17:25:52

    You’re an amazing soul Barbra!!! You are an inspiration of hope and grace. I appreciate you more than I’ve shown and much more than you know! Love you! xoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

