Breathe

Pink ink…

THREE!

Three radiation treatments left!
Third degree burn!
Three part post.

THREE RADIATION TREATMENTS LEFT!

ONE: SCENE: Radiation Girl (“RG”) is spending the day at the Science Center with her daughter and friends. While approaching the elevator, they come across a 3-year-old boy, his dad and his 2-year-old brother. As RG comes closer to the elevator, 3-year-old grabs his dad’s hand, and looks on in fright. He inches even closer to his dad, as RG stops at the elevator. “Are you looking at my head?” RG asks him. He nods his head. “It’s ok. I know it looks funny. It fell out but it’s going to grow back.” RG explains and smiles. His dad smiles with gratitude at RG. Elevator comes. RG’s group gets in. 3-year-old won’t move. Will not get in the elevator with RG. “Don’t worry, I won’t take your hair!” says RG (was that mean?!) RG’s sorority sister turns to the little boy… “Or will she?” (definitely mean!) FADE TO BLACK Hilarious!

After 5 hours @ the Science Center, Lil B and I came home only to turn around an hour later to go to the Rib and Music Festival! Yes, you read correctly! Big B packed us up, and we drove 45 minutes to a Rib Festival..in Arizona! It was great! Really funny, since we don’t really eat pork. But we did that night…and it was good! Fast forward 3 hours and we are pulling into the garage. Lil B trips on the stairs going into the house. We spend the next 2 hours in the ER. She now has a soft cast on her foot.

No, it doesn’t stop there.

1am. I am throwing up. Yup, the ribs. Thankfully, I kept all that Zophran! I popped one, and by 2:30 I am sleep!

Not done yet.

Sunday was uneventful. But at 1am Monday morning, Lil B starts throwing up. So no school Monday. Fast Forward. She has Norovirus. Picked it up at the Science Center. Or the Rib Festival. Or the ER.

You can’t make this stuff up!

TWO: Brief Medical Minute. I am in my last week of Radiation therapy. It is the “extra boost”, I mentioned. They’ve added an attachment to focus the radiation on the area where all my cancers were. Meanwhile, I am suffering from 3rd degree burns. What does that mean? I can’t wear a bra at all. I walk around without a shirt whenever I am at home. The skin is peeling off under my arm. Once again, I can’t lift my arm very far, for fear of the skin tearing. The medicine they prescribed costs $42 a tube. I need 3 different tubes. Again, I have good insurance, and can pay the extra $. What about the poor people who are scraping together the $ for treatment and can’t get the cream? I am here to tell you that $2 aloe vera or hydrocortisone is NOT enough.

On a lighter note, my hair is growing back…under my arms. BUT, I cannot shave! It is too close to the radiation sight, and my skin may tear! The poor radio-techs have to look at the hair every morning! LOL Looking forward to shaving and waxing! Someone asked how the crystal deodorant is working. It is actually really good. But it is NOT an antiperspirant! Given that it is averaging 98 degrees here, that is a problem.

THREE: When Red Ink Michele and I started this blog, it wasn’t really about the breast cancer lane. Our thought was it would chronicle 2 friends “of a certain age” going through various mid life twists and turns, and how we handled the journey of lifelong friendship. It just so happens that the twist of breast cancer kind of “took over”, and directed our journey. As so often happens, this weekend I was reminded that life is happening at lightening speed all around me. A friend back east passed away after just being diagnosed with breast cancer…in January. When I got the news, I must be honest. It scared me…a lot. Another friend revealed she might have a different cancer. A 3rd friend is having some major health issues with her child. It took my breath away. But then I was guided via Twitter, to a blog posting of one of my best friends, T. Marie, entitled “The Joy of One Simple Breath”. (see http://www.bythespirit.net). This particular sista-friend I have known since high school. Same College, same Sorority. She has provided me with so much over the years. This weekend was no different. She doesn’t even know her words affected me. It was, and is, exactly what I needed to read. In part, it said…

“Remember to breathe today. Use the joyous life cycle of one deep, conscious breath to return to the present moment; the space where Spirit dwells and your divine and creative power thrives. When in doubt (or fear, or confusion, or anger, or unforgiveness, or pain, or hate, or judgment or [insert constricting, limiting thought or emotion here]), stop and take a breath!”

So, I have 3 more treatments to go. “Life” is still happening all around me. I may be “burnt up”, praying for others’ strength, and taking care of a sick 9 year old.

But I will remember to…Breathe!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yasmin cader
    May 01, 2012 @ 20:47:40

    You are my hero…. in every way possible!!!

    Reply

  2. Andrea Smith
    May 01, 2012 @ 21:13:18

    As usual, Queen B I can’t thank you enough for these posts. As I sit here in Urgent Care with my 9 year old, I realized I have forgotten to breathe. Everything is so rushed, so hectic, breathing seems like it will take too much time. So thank you for that reminder. So glad you are.down to the end. I have been praying for this moment!!!

    Reply

  3. CH
    May 02, 2012 @ 01:19:35

    RG you are wise and magnetic (perhaps literally) and I’m inspired by your interactions, lessons learned and sheer bravery.
    And speaking of brave souls, I did a volunteer project at South Pointe High School last week and encountered a young man who was in his best pink breast cancer awareness regalia. He didn’t just rock a pink t-shirt with his best friend’s mom’s name and the date she left the earth, he had a pink ribbon on his pinky (wink, wink) and purple and pink striped socks with bedazzled hearts. Can’t tell you how nice it was to see him support his friend and their oneness. Shout out to all the bravehearts…and the fierce girl with the temporary tattoo.
    CH

    Reply

  4. kwalls
    May 08, 2012 @ 04:00:01

    And God gave us the breath of life …so I am Breathing with you….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

