More to come

Pink Ink…

Done

No more treatments.

DONE!

Well, we made it! I completed 30 radiation treatments! It seems like it was just a couple of weeks ago that I was making that initial drive up to Mayo. But I am officially done! All three Bs got up this morning and made the trek one last time. (I was so happy reading all the texts and emails I got wishing me well, sending me love, and congratulating me!) Ok, it won’t be the last time to Mayo. In fact, I have 3 appts next week. But it was the last time for the radiation dept!

We made the decision to take Lil B with us, because she went to the 1st treatment. And at the end of the day, she has been there with me the whole time. No secrets! So she was able to come in and see me on the table as they adjusted the machine. She was able to ask questions. She was happy. After it was over, we were able to ring the bell of completion! What a wonderful accomplishment! It took all I could not to cry. But I made it! In fact I did a little dance.

After we were done, we dropped lil B off at school. B said he had to make a stop at home before we ate breakfast. “Ok, whatever!” I said. “Do I have to get out?” “Yeah” he said. “Just for a minute”. And then it began!

There was a note on the door that started a scavenger hunt…for friends…from out of town! That’s right! On the front door, I was told to go to the office. In the office, a friend gave me a rose and a note that directed me to the next person who had another clue and rose! And so on! Amazing! My girls! Chicago, Philly, Phoenix you name it! AWESOME! Then we had CHAMPAGNE and cupcakes at 9:30am! LOL We sat outside and laughed for the next 4 hours! Good times. To top it off, Robin Roberts, fellow Cancer Survivor sent me a tweet congratulating me on finishing radiation! Again, AWESOME. So I am off to enjoy a weekend with my girls at one of our top resorts!

Trust me. There is…More to come!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Smith
    May 04, 2012 @ 23:10:03

    That is so wonderful B!! You have the most wonderful friends!!!

    Reply

  2. Joyce Ladner
    May 05, 2012 @ 02:54:11

    You are such a trooper. Congratulations on completing your journey. You did it with grace and humor. Even in your roughest moments you maintained your equanimity under duress. Congratulations to BigB and LilB too.

    Reply

  3. victoria brooks
    May 07, 2012 @ 00:25:41

    You have an awesome husband! I think as much as you needed to see your girls, they needed to see you. Nothing like your friends to make you laugh and lift you up. Love the shadow! Your hair is growing back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

