Counting Blessings

red ink . . .

Today is a beautiful day! It’s also a good day. The sun is shining, birds are singing, I’m catching up on my work, all of my kids are at school, my husband got off work early and we had a nice breakfast together before I started my day.

Last night I woke up in the middle of the night thinking about so many things. I was trying to recall the last time that I’ve had a sustained feeling of being at peace. Yeah, well . . . given the events of the past year, I couldn’t really remember a sustained period of peace in the recent past. This morning though I decided that maybe it’s enough to settle for momentary peace – for a good morning! Perhaps stitching these good moments together will give me that sustained buzz that I haven’t felt in a while.

Barb and I have been talking more about normal things lately – last days of school, summer plans, dates with our husbands, and plans with our chicklets! We are cautious, but thankful for the normalcy whenever it comes. Settling in to a new normal, after your world has been rocked by breast cancer or by the illness of a child or a friend, is a journey back that can only be undertaken step by step, expecting a few stumbles along the way as you get your footing.

Hope you’re having a great day wherever you are, or even just a great moment. Encouraging you to savor it . . . I’d like to keep writing, but I’d better post this quickly before something interrupts my groove . . .

Leave a Reply

