Think Pink

red ink . . .

In the last two posts, we talked about having your “own thing.” Well, one “thing” that pink ink and I share a passion for (honestly, she has been passionate for years, and I am a new convert, having been inspired by my own breast biopsy a few years ago and taken to a new level by her diagnosis) – is breast health.

I had my annual mammogram today! My birthday was yesterday and this was my present to myself. Have you had yours? I have to tell you that I had more than the usual anxiety going in (because of my heightened awareness about BC, and because of my own previous biopsy) but the sense that I am being responsible and taking my own health in my hands outweighed any angst. I actually was feeling pumped (albeit a little stinky – no deodorant allowed – and said to myself “let’s do this” as I walked in to the office this year. So the good news is that I was all clear. I was proud of myself because I know my Ta-tas better this year than I have in the past. Thanks to pink ink I am much more diligent about doing self exams monthly so when my doctor told me that my breasts were less dense (read – in need of more supportive bras – lol), I already knew that! (This is a side effect of being peri-menopausal, according to my doctor, which makes mammograms easier to read in some cases!). I’m also reminded by pink ink’s experience that breast health is an every day, and not an annual, event and will continue to “touch the Ta-tas!

To kick off Breast Cancer Awareness Month (October) we are asking everyone that we know to “Think Pink” on next Monday, October 1st and to acknowledge your support for those in your lives who have been touched by breast cancer by wearing a PINK shirt (or anything that you have that is pink and fly) on that day. And schedule your mammogram if you haven’t already done so!

BUT HERE’S THE IMPORTANT PART – We want YOU to take a picture of yourself in your PINK & let us know you’ve had or scheduled your mammo. Send the pix and a note to to us at inkwellchicks@gmail.com. We are planning to post the photos as a kickoff celebration of life and of our collective determination to find a cure!

Some of you guys will be joining us for the Komen Phoenix 20th Annual Walk for Breast Cancer on Sunday, October 14th. Even if you can’t be there, you can support the cause with a contribution to the team (Pinkwellchick). See http://phoenix.info-komen.org/site/TR/RacefortheCure/PHX_PhoenixAffiliate?team_id=219822&pg=team&fr_id=2646u. This is personal ya’ll. WE ARE THE CURE! Let’s make it happen.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dee
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 18:56:23

    Happy Belated Birthday! I give myself a present each Birthday of a Mammogram. This year I added an ultrasound for the breast that seems sensitive. You girls are awesome! Your blogs are constant reminders for us to know our bodies and take our health into our own hands. This is something new for most of us seasoned seniors. D. Crews

    Reply

Leave a Reply

