Headline

Pink Ink…

Anybody can make do when things are flush. Loyalty is the thing that will help you through the bad times.
-J. McCann

We are only in the 2nd week of breast cancer awareness month, and I already feel exhausted! Between meetings, and awareness “parties”, fashion shows, and all things PINK, I have been running. There is so much to share that I don’t know where to begin. Instead, I’ve decided to take an editorial break.

For the past few days, everywhere I turn there are headlines on the Nikki Minaj v. Mariah Carey epic battle on American Idol. Lil B and her friends are even discussing it at school. (Again, reminder that she doesn’t even watch American Idol.) Yesterday, she asked me why this was such big news and did I believe it was “real”. I must say, as always, she gave me pause. How to answer? I told her that it was probably a little bit of both. I have no doubt there is “beef” between the two. They are each superstars battling for another 15 minutes. But I also think they both “put on ” a bit, (translation: create drama) and the producers are thrilled that it’s bringing this kind of publicity.

I told Lil B that unfortunately, seeing women fight each other, and especially black women, makes for good TV. How else to explain the ratings of Basketball Wives, and the Real Housewives of…anywhere? I quickly identified my teaching moment and forged ahead. My message? There are far more examples of women coming together to help each other, to support each other, and not hurt each. I told her to just look around.

Today I highlight and thank a few women, for fighting against the stereotype just in the last 2 weeks.

• This past Saturday was the Komen Race for the Cure in Charlotte. Thank you Eboni for being Captain of Team Pinkwellchick! My friend has been supportive in so many ways! Tweeting and Facebooking breast cancer info, soliciting monetary support for the Race, and constantly sending me words of encouragement across the miles.

• So much has been written about the state of black sororities, and their relevance. Thank you Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., (Gamma Chi chapter) for unending support. My true crew has come together and helped me work on my intellectual property endeavors, providing creative, legal, technical and financial support. Thank you to my pledge sister, who hopped on a plane to see me after surgery, and to support me as I gave my speech.

• Thanks to the Survivors I have met over the last 2 weeks! Listening to other stories of survival has helped with healing. Having a safe place to share fears, laugh about losing hair…or breasts, and comparing medicines, dreams, and goals is invaluable.

• Thanks to Jen, who just an hour ago spilled tears and laughter over life’s joys and challenges, with me over lunch.

• Thanks to my Spa Crew. You know who you are, and why.

• Thanks to ALL the women in my life, who have proven that we are better than what we see on TV, and social media. Thanks for showing my daughter that women can, and do get along, love and support each other in times of crisis, and beyond.

Thanks for disproving the…headline.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. JC Ellis
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 15:05:47

    Amen! The black women battle is the hottest ticket on the boob tube (pun intended) these days. Heir #3 asked about you this week after hearing a breast cancer awareness message on the radio. I told him you were in remission but to keep praying for you. Heir #3 is on it! Enjoy the AZ race for the cure as a Survivor!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

