Again

Pink Ink…

Well we all survived Thanksgiving!  It was filled with HUMOR, as I requested.  There were no sad eyes, or bouts of hysteria.  There were very few discussions of “next steps” etc. The weather was beautiful, the food was good, and my Bs were “loved on” all weekend.  The only mini disaster was when Queen Latifah’s “The Last Holiday” movie came on while I was napping.  The story is about a woman who learns she only has a few weeks to live.  When Lil B’s cousin turned it on, Queen was just learning that she was going to die. I was awakened by the sobs of my daughter!  I was like “What the…”.  Lil B’s 6-year-old cousin was very concerned and explained the woman doesn’t die because the doctors are wrong.  As you can imagine, Lil B didn’t care, and ran to the back room.  I managed to calm her down with lots of hugs and kisses!  Disaster averted!  Weekend saved!

Black Friday was unexpectedly spent at Mayo investigating the swelling in my right boob.   I was very scared that I would have to have another surgery, or that my chemo would be delayed because of…whatever was going on in there!  Fortunately, they believe the fluid will just reabsorb.   I was told to take some Motrin for the pain, and we would check back in, in a week.

So here we are.  Some facts.

I started chemo one year and 7 weeks ago.

Nine months ago, I stopped chemo the 2nd time.

I went 5 months between treatment for breast cancer and starting treatment for metastatic breast cancer of the lung.

Longest I have gone without a visit to Mayo…3 weeks.

Wow.

I am so scared to start chemo again.  Not because of what it means, but because of what it does to me and to my family.  I feel really good right now! My body feels good.  But I know in 24 hours I will barely remember that feeling.  That makes me sad.  Someone told me that I have to look at my life as LIVING with a chronic illness.  So that is what I plan to do.  Keep living.

I decided that my next Instagram project is to chronicle the “getting healthy” part of chemo.  I have the lofty goal of doing at least 30 minutes of activity, Monday through Friday for the next 2 months of chemo.  If this chemo is ANYTHING like the last, this will be a very difficult assignment.  But, I have enlisted friends to come by each day and hold me to it.  I apologize in advance to each of them. I am sure there will be a few days when I will look and smell awful from the chemicals.  Plus, my attitude may stink!  But, I am determined.  I can’t let this disease quickly win!  I need to stay active and keep my lungs working!

So, I have broken out my chemo bag and packed it up with my chemo “stuff”.  I got my nails and toes done and topped it off with a short massage, to help me get my mind right.

Chemo pedi!

Here we go.

Time for me to get back at it…Again!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer B
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 16:22:51

    I am there with you in spirit today.

    Reply

  2. Joyce
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 16:27:58

    You go girl! Love that pedi color. Bless your heart. You are truly your mother’s daughter and she is one tough cookie. Everything is going to be alright.

    Reply

  3. musicalmona2012
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 19:05:03

    ‘Such CUTE little piggie toes!!!!! You can tell your parents had you in GOOD SHOES,((lots of money -o-la) while growing up….no corns or footnail fungi. Anyway…I know you are TUFF enough to get through this just as you did before, especially with many prayers and thoughts of encouragement from loved ones to support you. You are a Winner… Lots of LOVE, little girl….. from your MONA

    Reply

  4. TME
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 20:06:04

    Great post! Love it. Gonna get some “guest posts” ready for PWC while you get your healing and wholeness on. Love you, T Marie

    Reply

  5. Cameron
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 12:38:50

    Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, would you mind emailing me when you get a chance?

    Thanks,

    Cameron

    Reply

  6. JC Ellis
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 17:10:03

    I loved MusicalMona’s comment about the good shoes your parents had you in! You have very cute foot model worthy toes and that’s a fab pedi, diva!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

