Mtume

Pink Ink…

One year and 2 days ago, I had my double mastectomy. I can’t believe it has been a year!  And yet, here we are.  Still in the Cancer Lane. Originally, I thought I would do a year in review for my boobs.  (I still may) But yesterday my girl and I were laughing at all I had been through this week.  I think that may be a more entertaining read.  Here we go.

Monday: Arrive at the hospital at 5:30 am for surgery. No problem…until I break into tears realizing that I am about to get a port put in my body for the rest of my life.  Dr. Money (?!) tells me he will take it out in 10 years. Love him! Then I plead with him NOT to just throw me on the operating table.  I have a cracked rib after all! Then the anesthesiologist runs down the meds I am going to have.  One is propofol.  My response? “That’s the Michael Jackson drug!”  I hear the doctor later suggested to Big B that perhaps I should see a counselor! Haha By 1 pm, I am transferred to the breast clinic for chemo. Fortunately, I am still heavily medicated and sleep through it. I roll back home at 6pm, where I promptly threw up. Long day.  Did I mention that I got a “keep fighting” video from Samuel Jackson! (Thanks Yaz & KF!)

Tuesday: Sleep! I get a “keep fighting” video from Grey’s Anatomy actor, Jesse Williams. (He’s so pretty) Mayo calls and says my numbers are so low, I will probably need a lot of blood.  They will check back in in 24 hrs.

Wednesday: My Lovies come over to sit with me, because I can’t go walking. My port actually feels good.  Not as sore as the last time. I can move my neck!  But I refuse to look at it! Lil B has a ½ day.  An hour after she gets home I place an emergency call to my girl Maria… leaning on the Sorority shield, as they say.  She must come and get Lil B.  I am so tired I can’t keep my eyes open.  It’s not safe for her to be here with me if I literally can’t make it to the bathroom.  Maria arrives 20 minutes later.

Thursday: I spend the morning with one of my close BFFs who flew in from Philly.  Three times in 1 year! Love it and her! We laugh for hours before we head to Mayo for my transfusions.  The nurses realize that my port can’t be accessed because it’s still too swollen.  So they have to find a vein.  Three pokes later, they bring in an expert…and an ultrasound.  The 4th time, they get a vein.  My arm is now purple.  I now know all the collapsed veins in my arm.  But we are not done yet.  There is a problem with my blood.  I now have an antigen in my blood that makes it hard to match. Did I mention that I am nauseous? 4 hours later we start the transfusion.  We make it through the 1st bag, and half the 2nd bag. My neck starts to itch.  My arm starts to itch.  My tongue starts to swell.  My eye starts to itch.  I tell the nurse I am definitely having a reaction.  IV drugs and a steroid are soon coming my way!  But then I start to throw up.  Blood transfusion officially comes to an end!  But at least I got some blood, right? I get home at 10pm, after over 8 hrs at Mayo.

Friday: I feel better most of the day.  Then my right leg starts to radiate.  It starts to pulse.  No swelling. But it hurts to walk. I don’t say anything for a while.  Our Godson from NY just arrived! But, I call my girl Dana, who’s a nurse.  She says “Call Mayo”.  I call Dr. Michele instead.  She says “Call Mayo”.  I guess I have to call Mayo…and tell Big B. Next thing I know, we are in the ER. The nurses tell me they are having their Holiday Party…and I may have a blood clot.  One leg ultrasound later, good news.  NO clot.  Just lots of body trauma.  Seriously.  Back at home by midnight.

Saturday: My leg still hurts, but not as bad.  I am off to my Adopt a family service project.

Alas, life goes on.  I have chemo Christmas Eve.  Neulasta shots, and possible transfusion the 26th.

So here we are a year later. Still fighting.  Still laughing.  Because really, what is the alternative?  You may hear me screaming if I have to have surgery…again…to fix this port!  I finally looked at it.  It stared back, mocking me.  But she has a name.  It’s a throw back to an 80s R & B group. (Thanks CHH)

Introducing…MTUME

(Pronounced “in-to-me”)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 19:46:51

    LMBO over Mtume’s name. Here’s hoping you, Big B and Lil B enjoy the holidays with your family.

    Reply

  2. karenabigail
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 21:02:39

    Hilarious. Sending you love and blessings for the holidays and always. Love you soror!

    Reply

  3. Gina
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 18:04:21

    5 fight on! You rock! Your 14 – or in numerology – (1+4)=5.

    Reply

  4. TME
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 15:37:59

    LOL Love this post and you, mama! And tell Mtume to get her life {said in Tamar voice}! Def have a convo with her. Tell her y’all have to work together and YOU are in charge. Pledge her if you must *shrug* ;-D

    Reply

  5. Alexis
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 00:12:17

    *big HUG*…

    Reply

  6. JC Ellis
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 23:20:48

    Love the name choice for the port!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

