In 2013

 

Pink Ink…

Well we have hit the end of 2012! What a year it has been. Let’s do a review, shall we!? It’s a long post, so grab some Champagne, and buckle up!

January: New Years Day in the ER with exploded boob and drains everywhere! But ended month in Vegas!

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

February: Back in chemo!

So Pissed...March: Found more cancer. No Spring Break for me.  More surgery.

So thirsty...

So thirsty…

April: Radiation begins.  My College Roomie is diagnosed with Breast Cancer. (After 26 years of friendship we’re still “sharing” stuff!)

radiation

They say this doesn’t hurt…

May: Radiation is done! 3rd degree burns. I think the worst is over! Friends fly in to celebrate!

Let's Party!

Let’s Party!

Lil B and I ring that Bell!

ouch

ouch

 

 

June: Chicago to celebrate with all my besties! Then the headaches begin.

headaches

Surprise!

 

 

 

 

 

 

July: Headaches are getting worse. More tests.

Got needles in my brain!

Got needles in my brain!

August: Made it to the Vineyard with my people! Lil B celebrated a birthday. I’m starting to feel better about stuff! I discover Instagram!IMG_0577

DSCN0154

Touch your Tata ad

Touch your Tata ad

September: Still have headaches. More needles to the brain stop them!  Discover dots on lungs! More tests.

IMG_0590

October: Racing for a Cure with family and friends! Renewing Wedding Vows! Waiting to see what’s up! 30 days of Pink!

 

Pink It Out1

I do!

I do!

 

IMG_0358

 

 

 

 

November: Metastatic Cancer in the lungs. More chemo… But we kept our President!

4 more years!

4 more years!

My Bs are right there with me.

My Bs are right there with me.

Here we go again...

Here we go again…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

December: Chemo. Surgery. Platelet Transfusion. Blood Transfusion. Bad Reactions. ER visits.

Reaction to Neulasta shot.

Reaction to Neulasta shot.

 

Quite the year!

There have also been many many good times!  Many great memories!  I’ve reconnected with old friends! Thanksgiving and Christmas with family that brought only peals of laughter and joy!  Again, there are too many people to thank for getting me through this year!  You know who you are! There are not adequate words to express my gratitude! Sending you all a wish for a happy, family fun filled 2013!

The saying goes that God only gives you what you can handle.  I guess I can handle a lot!

Here’s hoping that I have a lot less to handle… in 2013!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karenabigail
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 19:14:29

    Smh… Amazing Barb..simply amazing. But then again, so are you. I’m so proud of your perseverance and you inspire me to put my big girl panties on and keep pressing! Love you B! Please share my love with Big B and Lil B.

    Reply

  2. TME
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 03:15:09

    What. A. Year!!!! Woo saa. But all that you need is within you already so continue to SHINE in all ways and at ALL times. Love you Soror!

    Reply

  3. Traci Lamothe
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 04:54:26

    That was quite a post. I don’t know how you do it but you do it well! I love you, and as always, praying for a miracle….

    Reply

  4. musicalmona2012
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 17:55:46

    I look back in wonder and I am awed over it all as I realize that God used you to inspire others as they read of your long and brave journey. i thank Him for all He has done for us to be with you and see and feel the courage that you show. Yet as we continue we must be mindful to not make cancer an idol but allow God to be our center in sickness and in health. Thank you for being an inspiration to so many. Looking forward to 2013. I love you and Lil B and Big B Your MONA

    Reply

  5. Natasha Adams-Denny
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 01:21:32

    Happy New Year my friend :). Hugs to the fam!!

    Reply

  6. Karen
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 23:17:39

    I just started reading this blog, Barb, and I am completely amazed by you! I am thinking of you and sending you good vibes and all my best wishes for your return to health!

    Reply

  7. C. Swanson
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 05:57:39

    You are remarkable. Always have been. Sending love and prayers.

    Reply

  8. ingrid
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 14:31:51

    Reply

Leave a Reply

