Make that cake for two, please!

red ink…

images-1

Happy National Cancer Survivors’ Day, my friend!

Like pink ink, I mourn, I celebrate and I give thanks…

I MOURN . . . the loss of our “old” relationship where we laughed and cried, complained and rejoiced with the sense that we would  keep doing this forever;  I mourn for our carefree days, especially on the Inkwell, with no agenda or sense of urgency;  I mourn . . .

I CELEBRATE . . . most of all that my friend is STILL HERE;  I celebrate the stronger, more purposeful, more stylish and beautiful than ever (despite how she feels sometimes) friend; I celebrate that we still laugh and talk about regular things; I celebrate the many, many joyous memories that we share about our loves – husbands, kids, families, a passion for doing something meaningful while on this planet – and that we continue to make memories; I celebrate. . .

I GIVE THANKS . . . for hearing her voice on the other end of the phone; for continuing to share stories and dreams and for being understood; for being able to “be there” for each other as much as possible even from far away; for the reminder that tomorrow is not promised to any of us; for her special relationship with my kids and for mine with hers; I’m grateful that I don’t cry whenever I get off the phone with her anymore, and that the overwhelming sense of sadness has been replaced with a sense of appreciation for what is present in my life right  now; I give thanks for friends – old and new – and especially for my husband, my children, and family, who have embraced me throughout this journey and provided light when I needed it most;  The experience of having a close friend who is touched by cancer changes everyone for sure, and is certainly one that no one chooses, but I am genuinely grateful for the life lessons it has taught me; For these reasons, I, too, give thanks.

In case any of you were wondering, my only explanation for not writing for such a long time (despite my ongoing conversation with pink ink) is that it feels unnecessary to insert myself into what has become (and was always meant to be) her conversation with all of you.   She has a unique and powerful voice that doesn’t require an alternate perspective.   I’ll only chime in when I have something on my heart that I feel compelled to give voice to.   Otherwise, know that I join most of you in the cheering section as pink ink continues to re-define life on the cancer lane and to tell her story as only she can…

I, too, will eat cake tonight and enjoy its sweetness and the joy it brings in honor of my girl, my sister, a phenomenal woman, friend, wife and mother who has given the term SURVIVOR new meaning.   I raise my fork (full of cake) and my glass (of champagne, naturally) to you!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karenabigail
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 15:17:46

    Such a stunningly beautiful tribute to a sister friend. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. Regina Spellers Sims
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 04:58:11

    Just giving you a shout out my DST friend AKA my soror from another mother. Peace. Gina ….Bobbi’s ship.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

