Blogging from bed

Pink Ink…

Editor’s note: I wrote this last night while medicated.  ‘Nuff said…

 

My dear friend Lizzie texted me a few hours ago, so I know it has been too long since I have posted. As always, thanks Lizzie for reaching out whenever you haven’t heard from me.  It is too late with the time differance to text her back. So it’s time for a quick

MEDICAL MINUTE:  Number 1 zillion

The lesson for today is listen to your body.

Since my last post, I have been feeling as ok as can be expected!  After each chemo I would use 2 or 3 fingers, until the rest decided to work again. I know the routine by now.  I am tired.  But that’s part of having cancer.  Life had been rolling along until about 10 days ago.  I started to feel a little achy on my right side, around my ribs and chest.  Big B and I thought I had aggravated my cracked rib.  But you know me.  I just kept on pushing.

As the pain started getting worse, I developed a cough.  Since I have messed up lungs now, it raised an eyebrow.  But no blood or other stuff was coming up, so I didn’t panic.  I did mention it to the nurses.  But we kept on going with chemo etc.  When it got worse, I mentioned it to my head nurse.  Remember her…the “Breast Whisperer?”  Upon examination, she told me I had a pulled muscle, and prescribed muscle relaxants.  No help. At this point I am sleeping sitting up. Shooting pains on my side. Fast forward 2 days.  I have a coughing fit that literally takes my breath away…and puts me in the ER.

The ER!

As a side note, when a cancer patient with messed up lungs comes into the ER unable to breathe…it causes…a stir!

Unfortunately, Lil B had to see all that before we were able to get a close friend to take her home.

Turns out I don’t have a pulled muscle!!!  I have fluid in my lung.  (Thanks Breast Whisperer) Fluid that is pressing against my ribs and chest.  Fluid that is keeping me awake.  Fluid that causes me to cough and wears me out after climbing the stairs.  Walking from my car to chemo today raised my blood pressure to 160/110.  NOT GOOD!

Fluid fills 1/2 my lung!

Fluid fills 1/2 my lung!

So tomorrow, I am getting my lung drained.

Lovely.

They are checking to see if I have cancer in the fluid.

Lovely.

They say the drainage may become a regular thing, and may not totally relieve the pain.

Lovely.

Next week, they will change my chemo because my current chemo is no longer working.

Lovely.

So the message today is to listen to your body.  Trust your body.  We knew something wasn’t right, so we kept telling the nurses to check.   If we didn’t go to ER, my lung could have collapsed.

On the upside, my script is done, we did the table read, and have another in July, with a real performance in the fall!

Yay!

On the upside, there don’t seem to be any NEW clusters of caner in the lung.

YAY!

We will know more on Thurs.

Until then, I will keep …blogging from bed!

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TME
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 21:44:55

    Hang in there, Love. Thanks for the update. Love your commitment to giving your story a voice! And for being your own best patient advocate. Yes, when we listen to our body intuitively we know something’s off, even if it takes some serious work to convince our healthcare providers. Love you!!

    T Marie

    Reply

  2. Regina Spellers Sims
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 04:55:28

    We just got back from ATL from visiting my cousin who has stage 4 bc. I showed her pictures of our party for you in Chicago. She too had to be rushed to the ER and she remains in the hospital. Thanks for sharing your journey with us Bobbi. You inspire so many. Love Gina

    Reply

  3. musicalmona2012
    Jun 22, 2013 @ 05:06:52

    So glad I remembered to check on you today. One good(I guess we can say good) thing all this has exposed is you as a wonderful writer!! Leigh has a friend in Peru that follows and is so inspired by your writing. It must be a sacrifice of your strength to do the entries but we appreciate what you are doing. Love,you.MONA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

