blog from bed…again

Pink Ink..

Just a quick update. I made it through the lung drain. Evidently people get these frequently. It’s not supposed to be “that bad”. Hmm…

The doc sticks a few needles in your back, up through your ribs in order to put in the anesthesia.  The drugs include lidocaine…which burns.  Then a catheter is inserted in between the ribs into the lung, with the other end in a bottle.  The Doc says hold your breath,…then you cough.  The liquid flows out.  It’s pretty gross, but goes pretty quickly.  But be clear, it hurts!  The doctor drained a liter…as in a big soda bottle’s worth of liquid from me, before he stopped.  Any more, and my lung may have collapsed.

a liter's worth of fluid

a liter’s worth of fluid

Now we wait for the results.  We wait to see if there is cancer in the liquid.  In the meantime, I can’t do much.  I can’t lie down, so I sleep sitting up with pillows around me.  I breathe a bit better.  BUT, whenever I take a deep breath,  yawn, burp, cough, move, I am crippled with pain.

The pain is my lung getting used to expanding again.

The pain is my lung, and ribs being aggravated.

The pain is my muscles readjusting after caring around an extra 2 pounds on one lung.

Tomorrow I have a CT scan, to see what my spots are up to.  So basically, we wait.

To top it all off, I am missing my Links conference in Houston.  The conference where I was going to present a workshop on listening to, and taking care of your body.  THAT is what causes me the most pain.  I am so disappointed !  I hope there will be other chances to speak to my Link sisters, from around the country. We spend so much time taking care of our families, and serving the community, that we often ignore the cues of our own bodies.  I was looking forward to sharing my story and ideas on how to take better care of ourselves!

The irony is not lost on me, that I had to stay at home, because… I am listening to my body.  I even  offered to Skype in.  Oh well.

Instead, I will just blog from bed…again!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 03:54:02

    I remember my mother-in-law having her lungs drained and it was very difficult. I am glad to hear you are taking it easy now. Take care, all of my love…

    Reply

  2. Regina Spellers Sims
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 04:49:47

    Hi ship….you are up writing and I am up reading your post. Thinking of you across the miles. Gina

    Reply

  3. motv8her
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 18:48:20

    Saw a picture on Facebook and immediately thought of you…must find the picture, but here’s what it said: “Sometimes we have to pull our big girl panties down and tell the world to kiss our a**!” Love you girl…YOLO

    Reply

  4. Victoria Brooks
    Jun 21, 2013 @ 14:45:28

    Thinking of you Barbra as you go through another challenge with courage, grace and dignity! Prayerful that the fluid will be clear.

    Reply

  5. musicalmona2012
    Jun 22, 2013 @ 05:11:38

    Stay strong, little baby niece. Get the rest you need. You are loved. MONA

    Reply

  6. Traci Lamothe
    Jun 22, 2013 @ 15:46:55

    You know you are always in my prayers. Hang on and REST! I know how you like to keep going (not always bad because its takes you mind off of things) but I’m glad you are listening to your body say “take a nap and we’ll get back at it tomorrow!” Love you always!

    Reply

  7. JC Ellis
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 17:25:55

    Hey Pink chic! I’ve been remiss in my card sending, but I was just thinking about you, wondering why the hell you didn’t talk me out of this damn 1L of a ride madness. Seriously! Just kidding! I’m loving it even though it’s bananas, but my vintage tale is back in the study groove. I got my annual mammogram on Monday at 7:15am (Happy Monday!) and thought of you as my itty bitties were squashed between those cold metal plates. WTF! I kept wondering if the more well endowed among us feels more pain or less than the “A cuppers” during the procedure. Really, that’s what I kept thinking. Spoken from the mother of a well endowed teen who tells me I can’t wear certain items of clothing because “it just doesn’t look right since your chest is so flat.” For real? :>)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

