The Gift

“…I don’t wanna forget the present is a gift; And I don’t wanna take for granted the time you may have here with me . . .”
Alicia Keys

red ink…

DSCN2291

“The Gift” by Drew Richardson

Though I usually don’t answer calls when I’m working, I glanced down and saw that it was pink ink!   We just got off the phone, and I’m feeling grateful . . . See she’s been tied up trying to stay alive … seriously.   Since I left there on Friday, I’ve been wondering how she’s doing and what’s happening with her and her B’s.   Even though I text or call her cell almost every day, I do so not expecting a response.   Mostly, I just want her to know that I’m thinking of her.   I get that she needs all of her energy to focus on getting a little stronger especially following the excitement of last week, with the play and all of the visitors from in and out of town who wanted to lay eyes on her.

After a few minutes, she deftly turned the conversation away from her, and we talked about normal things.  We talked about lil B’s halloween costume, and about the colleges that my #1 son is applying to.   As expected, she told me that I had to at least consider letting my son spread his wings and go to the school of his choice even if it is far away from Chicago!   She wanted my honest feedback about the play, and shared her actual timeline from conception to completion (which is astounding given all that she has been through)!  When she started to sound tired, we brought it to a close.   How I miss these “sharings” . . . Today’s gift was a surprise and truly one that I don’t take for granted and will hold in my heart.   I remember those days when I was “too busy” (she had them, too), and try to remember how precious these moments are when I’m talking to my other special folks.   You should too . . . Remember to savor those moments like you would a sip of really fine wine – and think of pink ink!  Here’s hoping that you recognize and enjoy your gifts today…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Helen Imes
    Oct 29, 2013 @ 22:47:51

    Thank you red ink for blogging this. I have been on here off and on all day looking for something from you or pink ink and was thinking of calling the house to check but I was hesitant knowing that everybody had to be exhausted. The fact that she was able to talk and share with you some ideas relieved me. It was such a a wonderful event and as a playwright I’m sure she wants feedback and all that attended know that it was definitely off the chart. I told her I am waiting on part #2 next. She laughed and nodded and I told her to “get Busy”. I am not a wine drinker but I can savor beer products and think of red ink and pink ink– a winning team that is truly a gift for me and many others. Thank you again for all that you do to make life a fine gift for us. After reading the inkwell chicks for so long I enjoyed meeting in person the famous RED INK and look forward to seeing you again. God bless you and your family.
    MONA

    Reply

Leave a comment