Post

Pink Ink…

Good Morning! Just a quick interruption of the regular scheduled post.

Some of you are returning to this site after reading about, or hearing about a post RedInk posted last night.  Unfortunately, we had to temporarily take it down.  This is my BRIEF reasoning on why.

My family looking on, as I recuperate! #couldn'tDoItWithoutThem

My family looking on, as I recuperate! #couldn’tDoItWithoutThem

RedInk wrote a WONDERFUL, LOVING, HONEST post about our reconnection this past weekend.  And what a weekend it was! I can’t really begin to describe all the emotions we have experiences.  JUST what I needed and so wonderfully captured by RedInk. Whether it was watching our girls love on each other, my vomit, Red telling me to sit down and shut up, or the true comedy of Red rubbing my feet as the skin slouged off.

Rubbing dry, crusty skin off! #DoneWithLove

Rubbing dry, crusty skin off! #DoneWithLove

But in great moments there are often miscommunications/misunderstandings.  Some we addressed in person, through laughter and tears.  Others we didn’t know existed…until last night.  Unfortunately, the irreplacible memories we created were overshadowed by the “almost correct” health info.  Normally not a big deal…until it effects LIL B.  I will be brief.  We don’t have 100% confirmation of liver presence.  We will find out shortly. The HIGHLIGHT of my stay in hospital was that it was determined that it was NOT in my brain.

This requires a STANDING OVATION!

I carry this to the post, b/c we were immediately deluged by phone, (cell and home), texts, twitter, and, calls to LIL B ( COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE) about my status.  Fortunately, I intercepted these WELL MEANING communications.  But it teaches us all a lesson.

When this type of information comes out in the future, please wait to go into detail of the news or the expression of your support, when you text…only with me or Red INK.  PLEASE don’t call my house. Please don’t contact Lil B, even to say you support her.  WE have entered a new era, where she can’t have EVERY detail w/o direction from Mommy and Daddy. I value EACH & EVERY bit of support, but last night as her head lay in my lap, I felt like I was protecting her from a falling wall.  Thank you to those who did in fact recognized that Red’s presence got the 3Bs through a very difficult reentering society.  Without Red, Mini Red, and Big B’s mom, we would definitely ALL be back at MAYO!  More on that later!

Thank you for listening/reading this.  Please don’t take this as an admonition!  I was floored once again, by all the amazing expressions of love.  Some knew something was off when the post was quickly deleted.  Know, I am GRATEFUL that Red wanted to share our love and experience of the past few days.  But, I did not appreciate people questioning if I was in the hospital a week (like Red said) or a few days longer, (like I instagrammed)  Really?  Most of all, I love each of you, for caring and for understanding that we now must wrap B in even tighter arms of love and be mindful of our responses.

ok, that’s it.  I feel like this will be an epilogue somewhere! So keepy our eyes open.

Now back to your regular scheduled…post.

 

 

Update: That RedInk post will be back with a few tweeks.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karenabigail
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 19:36:55

    You are well well loved soror. xoxo.Thank you for the update.

    Reply

  2. Joyce
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 19:49:17

    You and Lil and Big B remain in my prayers. Had a wonderful long conversation with your Mom today and I enjoyed her call.

    Reply

  3. Andrea Smith
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 22:34:20

    B…what a relief!! I have always appreciated you for your candor. We will continue to lift you & your family up in prayer & I hope you can hear my standing ovation! I am overjoyed! Thanks be to God!

    Reply

  4. Helen Imes
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 01:38:56

    Oh, am I RELIEVED and SOFTENED !! Upon reading I was tempted to comment and felt remiss because because the words were not there for me to write. After the third reading of “Red” and much contemplation I knew that this was deep prayer time. Thank you, again. for showing such strength to recoup and give us only what you think WE can deal with. Sometimes we forget that much is said unspoken. Baby, with this new news, I m jumpin . You, Big B and Lil B continue to be a part of my daily devotion and prayer. I’m with you. God loves you and so do we.

    Reply

  5. Tracy Riordan
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 03:59:21

    Pink Ink and Red Ink –
    I want to thank you for the raw feelings and expressions you both manage to leave here on these wonderful pages. I am a stranger, stumbling onto this blog (way long story) but you both have a place in my heart.
    The fight, love and determination is so honestly expressed. Until you have been in or very near the cancer fight (or Cancer Lane), you can’t understand how the little details effect you and mean so much. How the schedule is crazy but it is your lifeline, you are one step closer to the unknown. You both have kept life’s priorities in check with health, family, work and community while reaching for God’s hand too. I love the infectious strength you women give me and I hope to pass an ounce of it along to others. My largest thank you is for your words. They have helped me tap into my silent feelings I have been trying to express but had no words for, your words helped me form my own sentences. Our journeys started out so similar, followed many of the same (puking) paths and took our own abrupt turns along the way. Your words here help me know that others may cross our path or continue along with us but we can all do this if we share together.
    I am excited to see “Life in the Cancer Lane”, what a vision to have put pen to and a treasure for your daughter when the time comes. Thank you for sharing your journey, family, heart and words.
    My thoughts, love and prayers are with you and your families!
    Tracy

    Reply

  6. Erica
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 23:49:07

    Hello Barbra!

    This is Erica Sanford. We worked on the Komen Community Profile in 2011; gathering information for the African American focus groups. I just wanted to let you know that you and your beautiful family are in my prayers. I’m sending good vibes and thoughts your way!! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Bridget Eagy
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 20:12:23

    As I have always said and I will always say “You are my hero”….

    Reply

  8. Robin Bass
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 00:00:36

    As a mom myself, I truly appreciate and respect you protecting lil b. We sometimes have to remember that child do have ears and hearts. You are in my prays!

    Reply

  9. Helen Imes
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 07:23:57

    I continue to pray straight from my heart that God will give us strength and courage to get through these trying times.

    Reply

  10. Gina
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 18:16:47

    Ship…you are on my mind and in my heart. Sending you and your family love.

    Reply

  11. Yasmin
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 18:37:04

    Love you both immeasurably…

    Reply

  12. Victoria Brooks
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 03:14:22

    No words…just prayerful!

    Reply

  13. JC Ellis
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 04:32:50

    Thinking of you! Hoping you got to watch your girl Giuliana Rancic on the Emmy’s. Her dress was fab!! go Cats! 4:0. I still don’t know that damn fight song!!! :>)

    Reply

  14. Pam
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 23:47:41

    What I feel right now…inspired, profound love, courage, immeasureable family love…BIG Hugs always…

    Reply

Leave a comment